Reach Makes a Better Impression

31 Mar

Question:  You are about to go into a meeting with the C-suite members of your company to report on the success of your PR campaign.  Would you rather be able to say:

A.)  The campaign is working well, we have generated over 12 million impressions    

or

B.)  The campaign is working well, we have reached 91% of our target audience an average of 4.2 times.  

OK, so it would have been best to be able to report a direct causal link between PR activities and sales with an estimated ROI of 250%, but, between the two examples above, most of us would rather have reach and frequency data than just impressions.  Reach is typically expressed as a percentage of the audience and therefore requires the practitioner to know the total audience size and how many of the audience were ‘reached’ with a given combination of articles.  You also need to understand media consumption dynamics.  In the advertising world this sort of analysis is common and expected.

The power of reach is that it provides a much more realistic estimate of possible impact than impressions.  For example, if you are targeting women and get a hit in the New York Times, most PR pros today would lay claim to nearly 5 million impressions.  Some, citing pass-along readership and/or a mythical PR credibility advantage, might even inflate this number by a factor of three and claim almost 15 million impressions (For additional discussion on the use of multipliers, please see this IPR White Paper) .  In fact, you have reached a little less than 2 million women with the New York Times hit.  Reach paints a more realistic picture.

In the UK, Metrica purports to have reach and frequency data gleaned from a primary study of 12,000 consumers.  They use it as a standard metric in their bespoke media content analysis offering.  So why don’t any of the U.S.-based media content analysis firms offer reach and frequency metrics?  The database development would be expensive but uptake most likely would be strong. 

While both impressions and reach only represent opportunities to see (OTS), at least the reach approach requires the potential reader to be someone who could actually buy your product or service.  Baby steps of progress.  Next, perhaps we’ll start to measure people who actually saw an article and took the time to read it.  Maybe we’ll use the word du jour and call these ‘authentic impressions’.  

As always, thanks for reading.  -Don B  

78 Responses to “Reach Makes a Better Impression”

  1. Jason Whitmen March 31, 2008 at 7:59 pm #

    A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks.

    Jason Whitmen

  2. Mariana Sarceda April 8, 2008 at 3:43 am #

    Hi DOn! You’ve really made a point. Sometimes, in PR we get so obsessed with numbers that we only want to hear the highest and most impressive one. However, more often than never, our advertisements or articles have a less signficant impact numerically speaking. I guess we should get acquainted with the idea that it’s not a question of how many people can potentially read our article/ad but how many of our target readers actually paid attention to it. I’ll keep this in mind next time I have to deal with statistcs and show results to my CEO.

  3. Don Bartholomew April 8, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    Mariana,
    Thanks for your thoughtful comment. I believe you are thinking about it in exactly the right way. -Don B

  4. Andrew Laing April 21, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    Don, if I can add. I agree with you on the value of a %reach, but it is not straightforward to calculate what is the total. We often look at national coverage for clients over time within a representative sample of media. But we discount an audience reach based on various factors such as prominence, placement, etc. (we swim against the current by looking for the SMALLEST number — what I guess you might call “authentic” impressions), but then would that number be divided all possible people reached by the outlets? Possibly, but I’m not sure if that fits the bill.

    I’ve been thinking for a while on a similar question as it pertains to comparing levels of media activity in different regions — that is, providing a valid metric over time that says media in the North are more active on the topic than media in the South. It’s easy to say coverage/impressions was greater in one region than the next, but whether there was really more activity in the West versus the East is more complicated, because it requires standardizing in some way the total potential audience and/or newshole available.

    Nonetheless, always love questions about methods and metrics.

  5. metricsman April 22, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    Hi Andrew,

    Thanks very much for reading and your comment. Hope all is well in my second favorite country. I agree there are challenges to getting proper population numbers or even tight estimates thereof. The available data is somewhat better for consumer markets (e.g. census data) than it is for B2B markets. Estimating, say, the number of working chemical engineers in Canada is a difficult number to come by and would require some estimation or extrapolation.

    I don’t necessarily agree with factoring the reach estimate by some variable of quality (e.g. prominence, tonality). I believe there is some merit in keeping the ‘opportunities to see’ pure and then, perhaps, making some qualitative assessments in order to guesstimate the likely marketing impact.

    For the levels of media activity by region, presumably we’re speaking about regional and not national issues because anything of national interest that breaks in a particular region quickly (same hour/day/week) goes national. It might be more straightforward to start with the audiences (i.e. are there regional differences in topics, tastes, incomes, etc.?) and then see which media channels best reach each of the audiences that you/your clients have an interest in.

    Thanks again Andrew. -Don B

  6. the hartford in hartford ct August 21, 2014 at 6:42 pm #

    Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a information! existing here at this blog, thanks admin of this website.

  7. plumbing leaks August 22, 2014 at 2:56 am #

    Hi there, all the time i used to check webpage posts here early in the
    dawn, because i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.

  8. dieta alcalina August 22, 2014 at 8:40 am #

    Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a material!
    present here at this website, thanks admin of this site.

  9. Auto Accident Injury in Provo August 22, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment
    (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum
    it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any helpful hints for rookie blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  10. Suzanna August 23, 2014 at 1:25 am #

    Hey! I’m at work browsing your blog frtom my new apple iphone!

    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to
    all yolur posts! Keep up the excellent work!

  11. become a video game beta tester August 23, 2014 at 8:03 am #

    I think this is one of the most significant info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general
    things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really excellent :
    D. Good job, cheers

  12. best cloud phone system New York City August 24, 2014 at 7:26 am #

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  13. penny stock picks August 25, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

    I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not
    sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about
    my difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks!

  14. build aquaponics system Hawaii August 26, 2014 at 2:14 pm #

    I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s
    to be precisely what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?

    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a number of
    the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web log!

  15. best ip phone service New York City August 26, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

    Good way of telling, and nice article to get information regarding
    my presentation subject, which i am going to deliver in academy.

  16. jiu jitsu classes honolulu August 27, 2014 at 1:18 am #

    Hello, yeah this article is really good and I have learned lot of things from
    it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

  17. driveway cleaning prices essex August 27, 2014 at 6:47 pm #

    There’s definately a lot to learn about this subject.

    I like all the points you’ve made.

  18. how to get phlebotomy certification August 28, 2014 at 7:23 am #

    Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
    success. If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  19. learn jiu jitsu in honolulu August 29, 2014 at 9:02 am #

    Great items from you, man. I have keep in mind your stuff prior to and you are just
    too great. I really like what you’ve got right here, certainly like what you’re
    saying and the way in which you assert it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue
    to care for to stay it sensible. I can’t wait to learn much
    more from you. This is actually a wonderful site.

  20. sales representative jobs Salt Lake County August 30, 2014 at 12:30 am #

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your
    web page again.

  21. bad boys bail bond August 30, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

    My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at
    web, except I know I am getting experience everyday by reading thes nice articles or reviews.

  22. bail bonding software August 31, 2014 at 2:27 am #

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of
    any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for
    quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have
    some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to
    your new updates.

  23. northern beaches weight loss August 31, 2014 at 3:13 am #

    Hello to every one, the contents present at this
    site are actually amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  24. how to lose weight by eating right August 31, 2014 at 4:01 am #

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come
    back down the road. All the best

  25. what are penny stocks August 31, 2014 at 5:17 am #

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually recognise what you’re talking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Please also seek advice from my web site =). We could have a hyperlink trade agreement among us

  26. penny stock picks September 2, 2014 at 9:23 am #

    Hello my family member! I wish to say that this article is amazing, great written and come with almost all significant infos.
    I would like to peer more posts like this .

  27. Chiropractic Practices For Sale September 3, 2014 at 8:15 am #

    Genuinely no matter if someone doesn’t understand then its up to other viewers that they will help, so here it takes place.

  28. overstock online shopping September 3, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you
    download it from somewhere? A theme like yours
    with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    stand out. Please let me know where you got your design. Cheers

  29. shopping comparison September 3, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at this site is truly fastidious.

  30. shopping list September 3, 2014 at 6:42 pm #

    Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no data backup.

    Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  31. garbage disposal services September 3, 2014 at 6:44 pm #

    This post will help the internet visitors for building up new webpage or even a blog from start to end.

  32. top internet marketing companies September 4, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

    This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I have found something that helped me. Kudos!

  33. boat house rental September 5, 2014 at 5:35 am #

    Magnificent web site. Plenty of useful info here. I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thank you to your effort!

  34. who can file for bankruptcy September 6, 2014 at 6:17 am #

    If you are going for finest contents like I do, simply go to see this website every day
    because it offers feature contents, thanks

  35. whoah this weblog is wonderful i love reading your articles.

    Keep up the great work! You already know, a lot of people are looking around for this info, you
    could aid them greatly.

  36. pre action protocol clinical negligence September 9, 2014 at 3:44 am #

    Marvelous, what a weblog it is! This blog provides useful data
    to us, keep it up.

  37. best internet phone service 2013 New York City September 12, 2014 at 4:56 am #

    Hello, I do think your website could be having internet browser compatibility problems.

    When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.

    I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, fantastic site!

  38. nextiva resellers New York City September 12, 2014 at 11:58 am #

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about virtual pbx system New York City.
    Regards

  39. junk removal san jose September 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

    certainly like your website but you need to check
    the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to inform the reality however
    I’ll certainly come back again.

  40. Limo Service in St Cloud MN for Quinceaneras September 13, 2014 at 2:30 am #

    Can I simply just say what a relief to find a person that really understands what they are talking about on the internet.
    You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    A lot more people have to look at this and understand this side of the story.
    I can’t believe you’re not more popular given that you certainly possess the gift.

  41. marriage therapist sacramento September 14, 2014 at 2:28 am #

    It’s an amazing post in support of all the web users; they will obtain advantage from it
    I am sure.

  42. site web September 17, 2014 at 7:34 pm #

    First of all I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.

    I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thanks!

  43. phones systems for small office New York City September 18, 2014 at 2:33 am #

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted
    to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your
    blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I
    hope you write again soon!

  44. bail bonds gwinnett county September 18, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

    This article offers clear idea designed for the new people of blogging, that
    really how to do blogging.

  45. voip ip phone systems New York City September 18, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

    What’s up, I read your blog on a regular basis. Your humoristic style is awesome,
    keep up the good work!

  46. best voip for small business New York City September 19, 2014 at 12:22 pm #

    I was very pleased to uncover this website.
    I need to to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely savored every little bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite
    to look at new things on your blog.

  47. jeld wen windows September 19, 2014 at 5:56 pm #

    naturally like your website but you need to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to tell the truth however I will surely come
    again again.

  48. building waste removal September 19, 2014 at 8:38 pm #

    Hello! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and
    finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout
    out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to say keep up
    the excellent job!

  49. Trinity 24 hour fittnes September 20, 2014 at 2:26 am #

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your
    situation; many of us have created some nice practices and we
    are looking to exchange techniques with other folks, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  50. junk pick up service September 20, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

    It’s really very complicated in this active life to listen news on TV, so
    I just use internet for that reason, and take the hottest news.

  51. new simpsons tapped out cheats September 20, 2014 at 5:34 pm #

    Download The Simpsons Tapped Out Cheat.
    The Simpsons Tapped Out Cheat is the best generator for Donut and
    Coins. Now you don`t have worry about your account thanks to special anti-ban system.
    Download now and have a fun.

  52. Pedestrian Accident Lawyer Colorado Springs September 20, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

    Yes! Finally something about Auto Accidents Attorneys Colorado Springs.

  53. Dui Lawyer Orlando Florida September 20, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

    I’m not certain the place you are getting your information, however great topic.
    I must spend a while studying much more or
    working out more. Thank you for wonderful information I was in search of this information for my mission.

  54. acne marks removal naturally September 22, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

  55. food that helps lose weight September 22, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

    First of all I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like
    to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts
    out there. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Cheers!

  56. pbx phone service New York City September 22, 2014 at 11:25 pm #

    What’s up, after reading this remarkable article
    i am also delighted to share my experience here with colleagues.

  57. KWs September 23, 2014 at 12:35 am #

    Excellent blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out
    there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Kudos!

  58. onip.it September 23, 2014 at 9:54 am #

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in truth used to be a amusement account it.
    Glance complex to more delivered agreeable from you!
    However, how could we communicate?

  59. www.fsg-südheide.de September 23, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

    It’s going to bee finish of mine day, however
    befofe ending I am readinng this great post to increase myy know-how.

  60. i need a personal trainer New Port Richey September 24, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful info specifically the last part :) I care
    for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  61. personal training benefits Palm Harbor September 24, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

    Really when someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other viewers that
    they will help, so here it occurs.

  62. click To Go Look September 25, 2014 at 4:44 am #

    You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation however I find this matter to be really something which I
    believe I’d by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated
    and very extensive for me. I’m having a look ahead to your next submit,
    I will attempt to get the cling of it!

  63. 41 ocean September 25, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

    Hi there I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while
    I was researching on Biing for something else, Anyhow I am here noww and would just like to say
    kudos for a tremendous post and a all round interessting
    blog (I als love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go throuh it all at the minmute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so
    when I havve time I willl bbe back to read a lot more, Please doo keep
    up the awesome job.

  64. surl.madberry.org September 26, 2014 at 2:25 am #

    Everyone loves what you guys arre usuhally upp too.
    This type of clever work and exposure! Keeep up the wonderful
    works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  65. denver mortgage program September 26, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!

  66. best voip phone services New York City September 26, 2014 at 7:02 pm #

    If you desire to grow your experience just keep visiting this web
    site and be updated with the most recent news posted
    here.

  67. voip pbx provider New York City September 26, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

    I’ve learn some just right stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much effort you set to create such a excellent informative web site.

  68. digital video productions Tampa FL September 27, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

    Hi Dear, are you truly visiting this web
    site daily, if so after that you will without doubt obtain pleasant experience.

  69. ct bail bonds September 27, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  70. mortgage in florida September 29, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively helpful and it has helped me
    out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & help different users like its aided me.

    Good job.

  71. voip business phone service New York City October 1, 2014 at 6:08 am #

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to
    say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  72. a and a bail bonds October 2, 2014 at 9:50 am #

    Nice blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What web host are you using?
    Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish
    my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  73. voice over ip phones New York City October 2, 2014 at 6:48 pm #

    If some one wishes to be updated with most up-to-date technologies afterward he
    must be visit this web site and be up to date all the time.

  74. south carolina children photography October 6, 2014 at 8:18 pm #

    Hi, its good post regarding media print, we all be familiar with media is
    a impressive source of facts.

  75. is turmeric safe October 7, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of
    text for only having one or 2 pictures. Maybe you
    could space it out better?

  76. buy gold houston October 18, 2014 at 3:53 am #

    There is definately a lot to learn about this topic. I love all the points you’ve made.

  77. digestive enzymes supplements October 24, 2014 at 10:16 pm #

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this website’s articles or reviews daily along with a mug of coffee.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Social Media Measurement: How Do You Get The C-Suite Buy In? | V3 Kansas City Integrated Marketing and Social Media Agency - January 9, 2012

    [...] Don Bartholomew, one of my favorite metrics-obsessed researchers, is fond of saying, “Measurement is about [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

